الكساد العظيم الأسباب والصفقة الجديدة - 1919-1939

أمريكا حب الوطن النجاح في أمريكا شعار
American Pride LogoGeorge Washington Crossing DelawareFreedom Vets Day Veterans Day November 2009The Alamo San Antonio TexasRough Riders San Juan Hill RooseveltReagan Bush Gorbachev Statue of Liberty
  • ياهو أجوبة الشعار
  • الفيسبوك الشعار
  • تويتر الشعار
  • يوتيوب الشعار
StoriesofUSA@gmail.com

"ونحن نثني على جهودكم لتطوير وتحسين الوصول إلى موارد التعليم التاريخ عالية الجودة التي سوف
تعزيز التعليم والتعلم من التاريخ في المدارس في جميع أنحاء هذه الأمة "- وزارة التعليم الأمريكية

  • American Patriotism Stories of USA Home Icon
  • Abraham Lincoln Icon
  • Liberty Bell Icon
  • US Flag American Patriotism Icon
  • Dream 2 Achieve Children Success
  • Success in America
  • Behind the Red, White and Blue Icon
مساعدة في الحفاظ على
التراث AMERICA'S
تبرع الآن زر


RANDY E KING BIO
المؤلف الأكثر مبيعا


احجز الآن أفضل رئيس ملفه راندي E الملك "التاريخ يمكن أن تظهر لنا حيث نقوم به أو لا تريد أن تذهب."


منافقة
متوفر أغسطس 2014


غلاف الكتاب المزدوجة
"عدونا الحقيقي هو الجهل واللامبالاة".


وهل ثمة من هو الاستماع؟
مراهقون الحقيقي - قصص حقيقية


هو أي شخص الاستماع غلاف الكتاب "رفع المراهقين هو أشبه بمحاولة مسمار الهلام إلى شجرة".




يسار وسط يمين ما هو أفضل لأمريكا غلاف الكتاب "هو الذي لا يعرف شيئا أقرب إلى الحقيقة مما كان الذي يتم تعبئة مع الأكاذيب والأخطاء العقل".


BUY AMERICAN PRIDE CD
الأمريكية الكبرياء CD MP3 تحميل الرقمي
منزل | تاريخ الولايات المتحدة | ICONS HISTORY | الوطني | DREAM2ACHIEVE | النجاح | MISC

الكساد العظيم الأسباب والصفقة الجديدة - 1919-1939

الكساد العظيم الأسباب والصفقة الجديدة - 1919-1939

الكساد الكبير بديل قصص فيديو

1919 التعديل ال18
طافوا 20S
1929 سهم تحطم السوق
1933-1938 الصفقة الجديدة
1939 ألمانيا يغزو بولندا

الأحداث الرئيسية ذات الصلة إلى الكساد العظيم:

1919 - تعديل 18

الكحول بديل حظر 18 تعديل الفيديو

أعطى عهد حظر من 1920s أدى إلى نقابة الجريمة المنظمة في الولايات المتحدة. الجهود الاتحادية لفرض الحظر، بما في ذلك غارات على الحانات، تم التصدي له من قبل عمليات التهريب منظمة تنظيما جيدا مع وصلات وطنية ودولية. وكان من عصابة سيئة السمعة ولا سيما من الأوقات الغوغاء آل كابوني في شيكاغو. وكانت هناك أيضا عصابات في ديترويت ونيويورك ومدن أخرى. الحروب بين العصابات، وإنتاج القتل المروعة، أدلى كثير من الأحيان عناوين الصحف. في نهاية المطاف، الاشمئزاز الجمهور، نظرا صوت من عام 1930 تحقيق جنة يكرشام، فضلا عن العديد من الكشف عن مسؤولي البلدية للخطر، أنتج قمع مؤقت من الفساد السياسي. عندما قام بإلغاء 1933 حظر شراء الخمور القانونية مرة أخرى، والعصابات التي كانت لا تزال على حالها لجأت إلى مصادر مختلفة من تحقيق مكاسب غير قانونية، من بينها القمار وتهريب المخدرات والابتزاز العمل.

ويقع الأمريكية صناعة زراعة العنب إلى حد كبير في ولاية كاليفورنيا حيث كان هناك حوالي 700 مصانع النبيذ المستعبدين إنتاج نبيذ المائدة. في البداية، أجبر حظر إغلاق معظم مصانع النبيذ عندما انسحبت مزارعي تصل كرومهم التفكير قد أسواقها تبخرت. خلق هذا النقص الهائل من العنب إجبار سعر الطن إلى ارتفاع 1000٪ وأكثر من ذلك في الفترة من 20 دولار إلى أكثر من 200 دولار. مزارعي تحقيق خطأ زراعتها كرومهم ولكن في جشعهم زرعت الأراضى المزروعة أكبر بكثير من ذي قبل. زيادة إمدادات أجبر سعر الطن أسفل الى 15 دولارا بحلول نهاية الحظر.

المصدر: http://www.us-history.com/pages/h1596.html، http://www.1920-30.com/prohibition/

طافوا في 20

كان ينظر تقليديا الهدر العشرينات كما حقبة من الازدهار الاقتصادي الكبير مدفوعا مقدمة من مجموعة واسعة من السلع الاستهلاكية الجديدة. في البداية، والاقتصاد في أمريكا الشمالية، وخاصة الاقتصاد في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، استغرق بعض الوقت لتحويل من الاقتصاد في زمن الحرب إلى اقتصاد السلم. بعد هذه المرحلة مملة، كان الاقتصاد المزدهر. شهد العقد أمريكا الشمالية لتصبح أغنى منطقة على الأرض، مع صناعة الانحياز إلى الإنتاج الضخم، ومجتمع مع ثقافة الاستهلاك. في نفس الوقت في 1920s كان يمهد بذلك الطريق امام الكساد العظيم التي من شأنها أن تهيمن على 1930s.

خلال 1920s، طور الإنتاج الضخم والذي سمح لأرخص الأسعار. تم تطوير معظم الأجهزة التي أصبحت شائعة في هذا العقد قبل الحرب، ولكن كان لا يمكن تحمله على الأغلبية. ارتفعت السيارات، فيلم، والإذاعة، والصناعات الكيماوية خلال 1920s. كان واحدا من أهم هذه صناعة السيارات. قبل الحرب كانت السيارات ترفا نادرة. في 1920s أصبحت المركبات ذات الإنتاج الضخم رخيصة مشتركة في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية. بحلول عام 1927، كان هنري فورد باعت 15 مليون نموذج T. في كل من كندا، لم يكن هناك سوى حوالي 300،000 المركبات المسجلة في عام 1918، ولكن بحلول عام 1929 كان هناك 1.9 مليون. وكانت السيارات آثار واسعة على الاقتصاد والمجتمع. صناعة السيارات أصبح بسرعة واحدة من أكبر وأصبح عدد من الشركات الهامشية تشغيل محطات الغاز، الموتيلات، وتوفير النفط المهم أيضا.

التكنولوجيات الجديدة أدت إلى حاجة غير مسبوقة لبنية تحتية جديدة، بنيت في معظمها من قبل الحكومة. حاسمة بالنسبة لمركبات جديدة كانت الطرق الجديدة. تم تطوير العديد من الطرق لتصبح الطرق السريعة، وشيدت عددا من الطرق السريعة. ظهرت هناك فئة من الأميركيين مع فائض المال والرغبة في قضاء نفسه، وتحفيز الطلب على السلع الاستهلاكية، بما في ذلك السيارات.

كهربة، بعد أن تباطأ خلال الحرب، وشهد تقدما هائلا خلال 1920s كما تم إضافة أكثر من أمريكا الشمالية إلى الشبكة الكهربائية. تحولت معظم الصناعات من يجري الفحم بالطاقة لاستخدام الكهرباء. وفي الوقت نفسه، تم بناء العظمى محطات الطاقة الجديدة. في كندا خلال هذا العقد إنتاج الكهرباء تضاعف أربع مرات تقريبا.

خطوط الهاتف أيضا والآن يجري موتر في جميع أنحاء القارة. وكانت تقنية أخرى الهامة التي ذهب من النادر أن شيوعا في 1920s السباكة في الأماكن المغلقة، وتم تركيب أنظمة الصرف الصحي الحديثة لأول مرة في العديد من المناطق.

تركت هذه البرامج البنية التحتية معظمها إلى الحكومات المحلية في كل من كندا والولايات المتحدة. خلال 1920s، ذهبت معظم الحكومات المحلية عميقا في الديون، في ظل افتراض أن الاستثمار في مثل هذه البنية التحتية سوف تؤتي ثمارها في المستقبل. وهذا من شأنه أن يسبب مشاكل كبيرة في الكساد العظيم. في كل من كندا والولايات المتحدة، إلا أن الحكومة الاتحادية العكس، وذلك باستخدام العقد لسداد ديون الحرب والتراجع عن بعض الضرائب التي تم إدخالها أثناء الحرب.

كان التحضر واحدة من أهم الاتجاهات خلال الهدر العشرينات. للمرة الأولى، عاش أكثر من أمريكا الشمالية في المدن منه في المدن الصغيرة أو المناطق الريفية. ساهمت أنظمة النقل الجماعي، وناطحات السحاب الأولى، والأهمية المتزايدة لصناعة لذلك. وكان نمو قطاع الخدمات أيضا أهمية متزايدة، مع الصناعات المالية والتأمين مثلين أو ثلاثة أضعاف في الحجم. وغالبا ما يعتقد أن النمط الأساسي للوظيفة ذوي الياقات البيضاء الحديثة قد تم بناؤها خلال هذه الفترة. ذهب العديد من الوظائف الكتابية للنساء، الذين دخلوا سوق العمل بأعداد لم يسبق لها مثيل. وكانت أسرع المدن نموا تلك الموجودة في الغرب الأوسط ومنطقة البحيرات الكبرى، بما في ذلك شيكاغو وتورنتو. ازدهرت هذه المدن بسبب المناطق النائية زراعية شاسعة بهم. المدن على الساحل الغربي شهدت زيادة المنافع من افتتاح 1914 من قناة بنما.

المصدر: http://www.spiritus-temporis.com/roaring-twenties/economy-of-the-1920s.html

1929 - انهيار سوق الأوراق المالية

سوق الأسهم انهيار 1929

ما جعل انهيار سوق الأسهم؟

العاصمة هي الأدوات اللازمة لإنتاج أشياء ذات قيمة من المواد الخام. المباني والآلات هي الأمثلة الشائعة لرأس المال. مصنع عبارة عن مبنى مع آلات لصنع بضائع الكرام. طوال القرن العشرين، معظم رأس المال في الولايات المتحدة كان يمثلها الأسهم. شركة مملوكة للقطاع رأس المال. أخذت ملكية الشركة بدورها على شكل سهم من الأسهم. كل سهم من الأسهم تمثل حصة نسبية من الشركة. تم شراء الأسهم وبيعها في البورصات، والتي كان أهمها بورصة نيويورك تقع في وول ستريت في مانهاتن.

في جميع أنحاء 1920s طفرة طويل استغرق أسعار الأسهم إلى قمم لم يسبق له مثيل من قبل. من 1920-1929 الأسهم أكثر من أربعة أضعاف في القيمة. أصبح العديد من المستثمرين مقتنع بأن الأسهم كانت على يقين من شيء واقترضت بكثافة للاستثمار المزيد من الأموال في السوق.

ولكن في عام 1929، انفجار الفقاعة، وبدأت الاسهم نزولا على منحدر حاد حتى أكثر. في عام 1932 وعام 1933، وتصل إلى أسفل، بانخفاض نحو 80٪ من مستوياتها القياسية في أواخر 1920s. وكان لهذا آثار حادة على الاقتصاد. انخفض الطلب على السلع لأن الناس شعروا الفقراء بسبب خسائرهم في سوق الأسهم. لا يمكن تمويل استثمارات جديدة من خلال بيع الأسهم، لأنه لا يمكن لأحد أن شراء الأسهم الجديدة.

ولكن ربما كان التأثير أهم الفوضى في النظام المصرفي كما حاولت البنوك لجمع قروض قدمتها للمستثمرين سوق الأسهم التي كانت قيمتها الآن القليل أو لا شيء على الإطلاق الحيازات. وكان أسوأ، العديد من البنوك نفسها استثمرت أموال المودعين في سوق الأسهم. عندما انتشرت الكلمة التي أصول البنوك الواردة القروض noncollectable ضخمة وشهادات الأسهم عديمة القيمة تقريبا، هرع المودعين لسحب مدخراتهم. غير قادر على جمع الأموال الطازجة من نظام الاحتياطي الفيدرالي، وبدأت البنوك عدم بالمئات في عام 1932 و 1933.

المصدر: http://www.pbs.org/fmc/timeline/estockmktcrash.htm

1933-1938 الصفقة الجديدة

روزفلت البديل الجديد صفقة 1930s فيديو

أصبح فرانكلين ديلانو روزفلت رئيس الولايات المتحدة في عام 1933. وبعد وقت قصير، وقال انه بدأ الصفقة الجديدة. زاد هذا البرنامج تدخل الحكومة في السوق وزيادة كبيرة في الإنفاق الحكومي. عرض الرسوم البيانية والرسوم البيانية أدناه لمعرفة ما كانت هذه الأفعال التشريعات وكيف أنها تؤثر الإنفاق الحكومي والناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

جديد صفقة الإنفاق 1933

صفقة جديدة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي 1933

الإنفاق الحكومي نسبة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي

عمل أو برنامج اختصار العام سنت أهمية
قانون الضبط الزراعي AAA 1933 حماية المزارعين من قطرات السعر من خلال توفير الدعم المحاصيل لخفض الانتاج والبرامج التعليمية لتعليم طرق منع تآكل التربة.
إدارة أعمال المدنية CWA 1933 قدمت أعمال الوظائف العامة في $ 15 / أسبوع إلى أربعة ملايين عامل في عام 1934.
فيلق الخدمة المدنية CCC 1933 أرسلت 250،000 الشباب للعمل معسكرات لتنفيذ مهام إعادة التشجير والحفاظ على البيئة. إزالة الفائض من العمال من المدن، شريطة ظروف صحية للأولاد، توفير المال للعائلات.
عادل قانون معايير العمل FLSA 1938 أنشأ "الحد الأدنى للأجور"، وقوانين العمل الأخرى.
قانون الإغاثة في حالات الطوارئ الاتحادية FERA 1933 توزيع الملايين من الدولارات من المساعدات المباشرة للعمال العاطلين عن العمل.
قانون جلاس ستيجال FDIC 1933 خلق الودائع المصرفية المؤمن اتحاديا (2500 دولارا للمستثمر في البداية) لمنع انهيار البنوك.
الإدارة الاتحادية للإسكان إدارة الإسكان الفدرالية 1934 تم إنشاؤها كجزء من قانون الإسكان الوطني لعام 1934، وأهداف هذه المنظمة هي: لتحسين مستويات الإسكان وشروط؛ لتوفير نظام التمويل العقاري الكافي من خلال تأمين قروض الرهن العقاري. وعلى استقرار السوق العقاري.
القانون الوطني الانتعاش الصناعي NIRA 1933 خلق سلطة المصادر الطبيعية لفرض قواعد المنافسة العادلة، والحد الأدنى للأجور، والسماح المفاوضة الجماعية للعمال.
الإدارة الوطنية للشباب NYA 1935 وفرت فرص عمل بدوام جزئي إلى أكثر من مليوني الكلية وطلاب المدارس الثانوية.
إدارة الأشغال العامة سلطة المياه الفلسطينية 1933 تلقى 3300000000 $ تخصيص مبالغ من الكونغرس لمشاريع الأشغال العامة.
متبادل قانون اتفاقيات التجارة RTAA 1934 ينص على التفاوض على اتفاقات التعرفة بين الولايات المتحدة ودول منفصلة. ذلك أدى إلى تخفيض الرسوم.
قانون الإيرادات وnsbp. 1935 رفع الضرائب الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية على مستويات أعلى دخل والشركات، والهدايا والعقارات.
قانون روبنسون باتمان APDA 1936 ويحظر القانون المبيعات التي تميز في الأسعار على بيع السلع للموزعين بالتساوي تقع عند تأثير هذه المبيعات هو للحد من المنافسة.
إدارة كهربة الريف REA 1935 شجع المزارعين للانضمام إلى التعاونيات لتوصيل الكهرباء إلى المزارع. وعلى الرغم من جهودها، وبحلول عام 1940 تم المكهربة 40٪ فقط من المزارع الأميركية.
لجنة الاوراق المالية والبورصات المجلس الأعلى للتعليم 1934 سوق الأسهم منظم والمقيد شراء الهامش.
قانون الضمان الاجتماعي 1935 ردا على منتقدي (الدكتور تاونسند وهيوي لونغ)، وتوفير معاشات التقاعد والتأمين ضد البطالة، ومساعدة المكفوفين والصم والمعوقين، والأطفال المعالين.
سلطة وادي تينيسي TVA 1933 الحكومة الاتحادية بناء سلسلة من السدود لمنع الفيضانات وبيع الكهرباء. مسابقة عامة الاولى مع صناعات الطاقة خاصة
قانون فاغنر NLRB 1935 العمال المسموح لهم الانضمام إلى نقابات والتكتيكات خرق اتحاد المحظور من قبل الإدارة.
قانون عجلات ليا 1938 وسعت هذه القوى لجنة التجارة الاتحادية لتشمل حماية للمستهلكين من الممارسات الدعائية الكاذبة.
إدارة تقدم الأشغال WPA 1935 العاملين ل8.5 مليون عامل في قطاع البناء وظائف أخرى، ولكن أكثر المقدمة الأهم العمل في مجال الفنون والمسرح، والمشاريع الأدبية.

المصدر: http://home.earthlink.net/~gfeldmeth/chart.newdeal.html، http://www.atr.org/stimulus-economics-historical-case-study-a3628، http: //en.wikipedia غزاله / ويكي / Timeline_of_United_States_history_٪ 281930٪ E2٪ 80٪ 931949٪ 29

1939 - ألمانيا يغزو بولندا

ألمانيا يغزو بولندا والتي بدأت رسميا الحرب العالمية 2. ونتيجة لذلك، الإنفاق الحكومي على انتاج كميات كبيرة من الأسلحة والتطور العسكري زيادة كبيرة. أيضا، فإن الاقتصاد الأمريكي، والذي كان يتعافى بالفعل، وبدأت تزيد بشكل كبير.

المصدر: http://www.mygovspending.com/includes/history-charts2.php

English flagKorean flagChinese (Simplified) flagPortuguese flagGerman flagFrench flagSpanish flagJapanese flagArabic flagRussian flagGreek flagHindi flagTagalog flagFarsi flag
كما تواجد في / هيرد في:
فوكس نيوز الشعارسي بي اس نيوز الشعارهافينغتون بوست الشعار
بلوق التعليقات
  • DRAGON CITY HACK : عظيم فيديو !! أحب ذلك! I subbed! راجع للشغل ما لا تستخدمه لتسجيل؟ لدي ماك ذلك من شأنه أن هذا البرنامج التعليمي لا حقا ...
  • Nickie : هل تستطيع أن تقول لي بالضبط كيف يرتبط بري جيو W بوش لبوكاهونتاس؟ يرتبط زوجي أن حالة الرئيس بوش الذي سمعته يقول على ...
  • جيروم ديلاني : أود أن مراجعة الدستور. وكان دخولي مشاركة التعرض له منذ سنوات عديدة عندما كنت في المدرسة الابتدائية الطالب ...
أمريكا الكبرياء، الولايات المتحدة التاريخ شخصية دراسة الدليل، وأمريكا الشباب، حب الوطن الأمريكية، أمريكا الوطني، كيفية تكون ناجحة في قصص الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والنجاح في أمريكا، كتاب الوطني الأمريكي، ما هو الأفضل لأمريكا ؟، هل أي شخص الاستماع ؟، المزدوجة، راندي E الملك

إعصار عاصفة مصاريع فورت لودرديل في فلوريدا تركيب باب المرآب كي لارغو FL الستائر، الستائر، وظلال، نافذة المعالجات فورت لودرديل كارين Vipperman لا هبرة مرتفعات

The Great Depression Causes, New Deal – 1919-1939

American Patriotism Success in America Logo
American Pride Logo George Washington Crossing Delaware Freedom Vets Day Veterans Day November 2009 The Alamo San Antonio Texas Rough Riders San Juan Hill Roosevelt Reagan Bush Gorbachev Statue of Liberty
  • Yahoo Answers Logo
  • Facebook Logo
  • Twitter Logo
  • Youtube Logo
StoriesofUSA@gmail.com

"We commend you for your efforts to develop and improve access to high-quality history education resources that will
enhance the teaching and learning of history in schools across this nation"
- US Department of Education

  • American Patriotism Stories of USA Home Icon
  • Abraham Lincoln Icon
  • Liberty Bell Icon
  • US Flag American Patriotism Icon
  • Dream 2 Achieve Children Success
  • Success in America
  • Behind the Red, White and Blue Icon
HELP PRESERVE
AMERICA'S HERITAGE
Donate Now Button


RANDY E KING BIO
BEST-SELLING AUTHOR


Book Now Best Public Speaker Randy E King "History can show us where we do or do not want to go."


Leading America
Available June 2015


Leading America Book Cover
"Authentic leaders are given what they deserve by others through selfless acts."


Duplicitous
Published August 2014


Duplicitous Book Cover
"Our true enemy is ignorance & apathy."


IS ANYBODY LISTENING?
Real Teens - True Stories


Is Anybody Listening Book Cover "Raising teenagers is like trying to nail Jell-O to a tree."




Left Center Right What is Best for America Book Cover "He who knows nothing is closer to the truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods and errors."


BUY AMERICAN PRIDE CD
American Pride CD mp3 Digital Download
HOME | US HISTORY | HISTORY ICONS | PATRIOTIC | DREAM2ACHIEVE | SUCCESS | MISC

The Great Depression Causes, New Deal – 1919-1939

The Great Depression Causes, New Deal – 1919-1939

Alternative Great Depression Stories Video

1919 18th Amendment
Roaring 20s
1929 Stock Market Crash
1933-1938 New Deal
1939 Germany Invades Poland

Major Events Related to Great Depression:

1919 – 18th Amendment

Alternative Alcohol Prohibition 18th Amendment Video

The Prohibition era of the 1920s gave rise to the organized crime syndicate in the United States. Federal efforts to enforce prohibition, including raids on speakeasies, were countered by well-organized bootlegging operations with national and international connections. A particularly notorious gang of the times was Al Capone’s mob in Chicago. There were also gangs in Detroit, New York and other cities. Wars among gangs, producing grisly killings, frequently made headlines. Eventually, the public’s repugnance, given voice by the 1930 Wickersham Commission inquiry, as well as numerous revelations of compromised municipal officials, produced a temporary suppression of political corruption. When the 1933 repeal of prohibition made buying liquor legal once again, gangs that were still intact resorted to different sources of illegal gain, among them gambling, narcotics trafficking and labor racketeering.

The American grape growing industry was largely situated in California where there were about 700 bonded wineries producing table wines. Initially, prohibition forced the closure of most of the wineries when growers pulled up their vines thinking their market had evaporated. This created an enormous shortage of grapes forcing the the price per ton to rise 1000% and more from $20 to over $200. Growers realizing their mistake replanted vineyards but in their greed planted much greater acreages than previously. The increased supply forced the price per ton down to $15 by the end of prohibition.

Source: http://www.u-s-history.com/pages/h1596.html, http://www.1920-30.com/prohibition/

Roaring 20’s

The Roaring Twenties were traditionally viewed as an era of great economic prosperity driven by the introduction of a wide array of new consumer goods. Initially, the North American economy, particularly the economy of the USA, took sometime to convert from a wartime economy to a peacetime economy. After this dull phase, the economy was booming. The decade saw North America becoming the richest region on the earth, with industry aligned to mass production, and a society with a culture of consumerism. At the same time the 1920s were setting the stage for the Great Depression that would dominate the 1930s.

During the 1920s, mass production developed which allowed for cheaper prices. Most of the devices that became commonplace in this decade had been developed before the war, but had been unaffordable to the majority. The automobile, movie, radio, and chemical industries skyrocketed during the 1920s. One of the most important of these was the automobile industry; before the war cars were a rare luxury. In the 1920s cheap mass-produced vehicles became common throughout North America. By 1927, Henry Ford had sold 15 million Model T. In all of Canada, there were only about 300,000 vehicles registered in 1918, but by 1929 there were 1.9 million. The automobile had wide effects on the economy and society. The automobile industry rapidly became one of the largest and a number of peripheral companies running gas stations, motels, and providing oil also became important.

The new technologies led to an unprecedented need for new infrastructure, mostly built by the government. Crucial to the new vehicles were new roads. Several roads were upgraded to become highways, and a number of expressways were constructed. There emerged a class of Americans with surplus money and a desire to spend the same, spurring the demand for consumer goods, including the automobiles.

Electrification, having slowed during the war, saw huge progress during the 1920s as most of North America was added to the electric grid. Most industries switched from being coal powered to using electricity. At the same time, vast new power plants were constructed. In Canada during this decade electricity production almost quadrupled.

Telephone lines also were now being strung across the continent. Another important technology that went from rare to common in the 1920s was indoor plumbing, and modern sewer systems were installed for the first time in many regions.

These infrastructure programs were mostly left to the local governments in both Canada and the United States. During the 1920s, most local governments went deeply into debt, under the assumption that an investment in such infrastructure would pay off in the future. This would cause major problems in the Great Depression. In both Canada and the United States, the federal governments did the reverse, using the decade to pay down war debts and rollback some of the taxes that had been introduced during the war.

Urbanization was one of the most important trends during the Roaring Twenties. For the first time, more North Americans lived in cities than in small towns or rural areas. Mass transit systems, the first skyscrapers, and the growing importance of industry contributed to this. A growing service sector was also increasingly important, with the finance and insurance industries doubling or tripling in size. The basic pattern of the modern white collar job is often believed to have been established during this period. Many of the clerical jobs went to women, who entered the workforce in unprecedented numbers. The fastest growing cities were those in the Midwest and the Great Lakes region, including Chicago and Toronto. These cities prospered due to their vast agricultural hinterlands. Cities on the West Coast saw increasing benefits from the 1914 opening of the Panama Canal.

Source: http://www.spiritus-temporis.com/roaring-twenties/economy-of-the-1920s.html

1929 – Stock Market Crash

Stock Market Crash 1929

What made the stock market crash?

Capital is the tools needed to produce things of value out of raw materials. Buildings and machines are common examples of capital. A factory is a building with machines for making valued goods. Throughout the twentieth century, most of the capital in the United States was represented by stocks. A corporation owned capital. Ownership of the corporation in turn took the form of shares of stock. Each share of stock represented a proportionate share of the corporation. The stocks were bought and sold on stock exchanges, of which the most important was the New York Stock Exchange located on Wall Street in Manhattan.

Throughout the 1920s a long boom took stock prices to peaks never before seen. From 1920 to 1929 stocks more than quadrupled in value. Many investors became convinced that stocks were a sure thing and borrowed heavily to invest more money in the market.

But in 1929, the bubble burst and stocks started down an even more precipitous cliff. In 1932 and 1933, they hit bottom, down about 80% from their highs in the late 1920s. This had sharp effects on the economy. Demand for goods declined because people felt poor because of their losses in the stock market. New investment could not be financed through the sale of stock, because no one would buy the new stock.

But perhaps the most important effect was chaos in the banking system as banks tried to collect on loans made to stock market investors whose holdings were now worth little or nothing at all. Worse, many banks had themselves invested depositors’ money in the stock market. When word spread that banks’ assets contained huge noncollectable loans and almost worthless stock certificates, depositors rushed to withdraw their savings. Unable to raise fresh funds from the Federal Reserve System, banks began failing by the hundreds in 1932 and 1933.

Source: http://www.pbs.org/fmc/timeline/estockmktcrash.htm

1933-1938 New Deal

Alternative FDR The New Deal 1930s Video

Franklin Delano Roosevelt became President of the United States in 1933. Shortly after, he initiated the New Deal. This program increased government involvement in the marketplace and significantly increased government spending. View the graphs and charts below to see what these legislation acts were and how it affected government spending and Gross Domestic Product.

New Deal Spending 1933

New Deal GDP 1933

Government Spending Percentage GDP

Act or Program Acronym Year Enacted Significance
Agricultural Adjustment Act AAA 1933 Protected farmers from price drops by providing crop subsidies to reduce production, educational programs to teach methods of preventing soil erosion.
Civil Works Administration CWA 1933 Provided public works jobs at $15/week to four million workers in 1934.
Civilian Conservation Corps CCC 1933 Sent 250,000 young men to work camps to perform reforestation and conservation tasks. Removed surplus of workers from cities, provided healthy conditions for boys, provided money for families.
Fair Labor Standards Act FLSA 1938 Established the “Minimum Wage” and other labor laws.
Federal Emergency Relief Act FERA 1933 Distributed millions of dollars of direct aid to unemployed workers.
Glass-Steagall Act FDIC 1933 Created federally insured bank deposits ($2500 per investor at first) to prevent bank failures.
Federal Housing Administration FHA 1934 Created as part of the National Housing Act of 1934, the goals of this organization are: to improve housing standards and conditions; to provide an adequate home financing system through insurance of mortgage loans; and to stabilize the mortgage market.
National Industrial Recovery Act NIRA 1933 Created NRA to enforce codes of fair competition, minimum wages, and to permit collective bargaining of workers.
National Youth Administration NYA 1935 Provided part-time employment to more than two million college and high school students.
Public Works Administration PWA 1933 Received $3.3 billion appropriation from Congress for public works projects.
Reciprocal Trade Agreements Act RTAA 1934 Provided for the negotiation of tariff agreements between the United States and separate nations. It resulted in a reduction of duties.
Revenue Act &nsbp; 1935 Raised United States taxes on higher income levels, corporations, and gifts and estates.
Robinson-Patman Act APDA 1936 The Act prohibits sales that discriminate in price on the sale of goods to equally-situated distributors when the effect of such sales is to reduce competition.
Rural Electrification Administration REA 1935 Encouraged farmers to join cooperatives to bring electricity to farms. Despite its efforts, by 1940 only 40% of American farms were electrified.
Securities and Exchange Commission SEC 1934 Regulated stock market and restricted margin buying.
Social Security Act   1935 Response to critics (Dr. Townsend and Huey Long), it provided pensions, unemployment insurance, and aid to blind, deaf, disabled, and dependent children.
Tennessee Valley Authority TVA 1933 Federal government build series of dams to prevent flooding and sell electricity. First public competition with private power industries
Wagner Act NLRB 1935 Allowed workers to join unions and outlawed union-busting tactics by management.
Wheeler-Lea Act   1938 This broadened the FTC’s powers to include protection for consumers from false advertising practices.
Works Progress Administration WPA 1935 Employed 8.5 million workers in construction and other jobs, but more importantly provided work in arts, theater, and literary projects.

Source: http://home.earthlink.net/~gfeldmeth/chart.newdeal.html, http://www.atr.org/stimulus-economics-historical-case-study-a3628, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_United_States_history_%281930%E2%80%931949%29

1939 – Germany Invades Poland

Germany invades Poland which officially started World War 2. As a result, government spending on mass production of arms and military development significantly increased. Also, the US economy, which was already recovering, began to significantly increase.

Source: http://www.mygovspending.com/includes/history-charts2.php

English flagKorean flagChinese (Simplified) flagPortuguese flagGerman flagFrench flagSpanish flagJapanese flagArabic flagRussian flagGreek flagHindi flagTagalog flagFarsi flag
As Seen/Heard On:
Fox News Logo   CBS News Logo   The Huffington Post Logo
BLOG COMMENTS
  • IM Forum: Simply wanna comment on few general things, The website style is perfect, the subject material is rattling excellent....
  • Beatrice: Fantastic. I agree.
  • Offshore Company: Fantastic.. Thank you for your information on the post What to Do With Teenagers: 10 Things to Help Me with My Teenager...
American Pride, United States History Personal Study Guide, America Youth, American Patriotism, Patriotic America, How to Be Successful in the USA, Success Stories in America, American Patriotic Book, What is BEST for America?, Is Anybody Listening?, Duplicitous, Randy E King

Hurricane Storm Shutters Fort Lauderdale Florida Blinds, Shutters, Shades, Window Treatments Fort Lauderdale Tax Preparation Franchise Business Opportunity - 1040TaxBiz