mayflower compact william bradford pilgrims puritans landed 1620

Mayflower Compact, William Bradford, Pilgrims – Puritans Landed – 1620

Mayflower Compact

Alternative Mayflower Compact 1620 Video

The Mayflower Compact was the first governing document of Plymouth Colony. It was written by the colonists, also known as the Pilgrims, who crossed the Atlantic aboard the Mayflower.

Mayflower Compact William Bradford 1620In the name of God, Amen. We whose names are underwritten, the loyal subjects of our dread Sovereign Lord King James, by the Grace of God of Great Britain, France and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, etc.

Having undertaken, for the Glory of God and advancement of the Christian Faith and Honour of our King and Country, a Voyage to plant the First Colony in the Northern Parts of Virginia, do by these presents solemnly and mutually in the presence of God and one of another, Covenant and Combine ourselves together into a Civil Body Politic, for our better ordering and preservation and furtherance of the ends aforesaid; and by virtue hereof to enact, constitute and frame such just and equal Laws, Ordinances, Acts, Constitutions and Offices, from time to time, as shall be thought most meet and convenient for the general good of the Colony, unto which we promise all due submission and obedience. In witness whereof we have hereunder subscribed our names at Cape Cod, the 11th of November, in the year of the reign of our Sovereign Lord King James, of England, France and Ireland the eighteenth, and of Scotland the fifty-fourth. Anno Domini 1620.

1. John Carver

2. William Bradford

3. Edward Winslow

4. William Brewster

5. Isaac Allerton

6. Miles Standish

7. John Alden

8. Samuel Fuller

9. Christopher Martin

10. William Mullins

11. William White

12. Richard Warren

13. John Howland

14. Stephen Hopkins

15. Edward Tilly

16. John Tilly

17. Francis Cooke ( [sic])

18. Thomas Rogers

19. Thomas Tinker

20. John Ridgdale

21. Edward Fuller

22. John Turner

23. Francis Eaton

24. James Chilton

25. John Craxton (sic)

26. John Billington

27. Joses Fletcher (sic)

28. John Goodman

29. Digery Priest (sic)

30. Thomas Williams

31. Gilbert Winslow

32. Edmund Margeson

33. Peter Brown

34. Richard Bitteridge (sic)

35. George Soule

36. Richard Clark (sic)

37. Richard Gardiner

38. John Allerton

39. Thomas English

40. Edward Doten (sic)

41. Edward Leister

Related topics:

Jamestown VA Settlement

Pilgrim Memorial State Park

Plymouth Rock, First Thanksgiving